7 Most Popular Types Of Yoga

Types Of Yoga: Yoga is one of the oldest forms of exercise, with a rich history that stretches back more than 5,000 years. These days, though, it’s become less about being “spiritual” and more about being healthy—and there are plenty of styles to choose from. 

Here’s a guide to seven of the most popular types of yoga out there:

Hatha Yoga

Hatha yoga is the most popular form and has been around since the 8th century. It’s a combination of physical exercise, self-improvement, and meditation.

A typical yoga class will start with an asana (posture) sequence followed by pranayama (deep breathing exercises) and meditation. Hatha is considered to be one of the “paths” or branches of yoga that lead to enlightenment: it teaches you how to discipline yourself both physically and mentally through postures, breathing exercises, relaxation techniques, and meditation practices.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a form of Hatha Yoga. The word Ashtanga means eight limbs and refers to the eight elements of yoga: Yama (abstention from negative behavior), niyama (observance of positive behavior), asana (physical postures), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (sense control), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi. 

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois developed the sequence of poses in Ashtanga Yoga in Mysore India in 1931, when he established the Ashtanga Yoga Institute. It is taught through teacher-student relationships at this institute today; to become a certified teacher, one must study under one’s primary teacher for three years before testing for certification with them present during your practical teaching demonstration.

Vinyasa Yoga

Vinyasa Yoga is a form of Hatha Yoga that uses a series of poses, or asanas, linked together by the breath. The word “vinyasa” means “breath-synchronized movement” in Sanskrit.

Vinyasa Yoga is a dynamic form of yoga that combines movement with breathing. In this style of practice, there are different series or sequences of asanas (poses), typically held for 5-10 breaths each before flowing into the next pose.

Kundalini Yoga

● Kundalini Yoga is a form of yoga that focuses on spiritual development.

● Kundalini Yoga is also a form that focuses on meditation and breathing techniques, emphasizing the chakras (energy centers within your body).

● There are many different types of classes available based on what type of practice you’re looking for!

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar yoga is a form of Hatha yoga developed by B.K.S. Iyengar, born in 1918 in India. The practice focuses on alignment and precision to help you achieve proper form while practicing poses.

Iyengar believes that when you practice the same pose over and over again, your body begins to memorize it so you can properly correct yourself with each repetition or set of repetitions until your muscles begin to relax into the pose instead of fighting against it as they would if they were unfamiliar with it or if they were unable to see their own mistakes during an attempt at the pose.

Bikram Yoga

Bikram Yoga is a form of hot yoga that originated in India. It comprises 26 postures, two breathing exercises, and several relaxation and meditation techniques. The poses are practiced in a room heated to 105 degrees Fahrenheit. The class usually lasts 90 minutes or less, and the sequence is designed to increase strength, flexibility, and balance.

Yin Yoga

Yin Yoga Bali is a slow-paced, meditative form of yoga that focuses on stretching and relaxing the body. It’s not entirely as passive as restorative yoga, but it’s still a mindful practice that helps you connect with your breath. The name yin comes from the Chinese word for “shadows.” In this class, you’ll hold each pose for three to five minutes at a time (which is really long compared to other forms of yoga). You’ll also allow yourself plenty of time in between poses for meditation or just lying flat on your back in savasana (corpse pose).

This practice can help improve flexibility and range of motion by targeting muscles’ deep layers (called fascia), which tend to be stiffer than the superficial ones. With consistent practice, you’ll get stronger over time—and have less joint pain in the process!


If you are interested in trying yoga, there are several different types. Some types of yoga focus on different aspects of your body and mind, while others help you relax and relieve stress. Each will provide you with a unique experience, so it’s important to know what they entail. Below is a brief overview of seven popular types of yoga that you may want to try:

● Hatha Yoga: This type of yoga is suitable for beginners because it focuses on stretching and strengthening the body through poses or asanas. It also includes meditation.

● Vinyasa Flow Yoga: This flow-based class incorporates many traditional poses into its practice by flowing from one pose into another without stopping between moves. While some flow classes do include static poses, much focus more on incorporating movement into the asanas than holding them for long periods like most other forms of hatha yoga do. Because vinyasa classes often incorporate more vigorous movements than other styles, which might leave you feeling sore if done without warming up beforehand! Make sure that before taking any class, whether it be Hatha or vinyasa flow style, always check with the teacher beforehand about any restrictions due to injuries/physical challenges, etcetera – this way, everyone can enjoy themselves safely!


There are many different types of yoga, each with its benefits and challenges. If you aren’t sure which type is right for you, trying a few different classes can be helpful before committing yourself to one particular style. This way, you can get more familiar with the poses and movements before deciding which practice seems most beneficial for your needs as an individual.

Previous post 10 Selfless Acts of Kindness You Can Perform
Is artificial Intelligence dangerous? Next post Is artificial Intelligence dangerous?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.